How to: deactivate Facebook

deactivate facebook

Facebook allows you to ‘deactivate’ your account, or effectively, put it in cold storage.

By going through the deactivation steps as detailed below, your profile will not be accessible, though if you have commented, liked or been tagged on other Facebook profiles, a remnant of your Facebook profile may still be visible to others.

If your account is ‘deactivated’ you can resume it at any time, by simply logging in again.

If you are certain you never want to use your Facebook account again, we have detailed the steps to permanently delete your account.


Step One


Click on the settings logo, to the right of the screen. Deactivate Facebook account step1

 

 


Step Two


Select “Account Settings”. Deactivate Facebook account step2

 

 


Step Three


Select “Security” on the left hand side of the screen. Deactivate Facebook account step3

 

 


Step Four


Click on the “Deactivate your account” link at the bottom of the Security Settings panel. Deactivate Facebook account step4

 

 


Step Five


Fill in the details on this page Are you sure you want to deactivate your account?, paying particular attention to the Email opt out: tick box at the end of the page. Deactivate Facebook account step5

 

 


Step Six


Fill in your password Deactivate Facebook account step6

 

 


Step Seven


Enter the letters into the ‘Captcha’ box Deactivate Facebook account step7

 

 


Step Eight


You will receive an email confirming the deactivation. To re-activate the Facebook account, simply click on the link in this email, or go to Facebook and login. Deactivate Facebook account step8

 

 

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Department of Education Office for Internet Safety insafe European Union National Parents Council PDST